Australian Professional Photography Award

Published:  May 31, 2012
Ayesha Khara

Now in its 36th year, The Canon AIPP Australian Professional Photography Award continues to attract thousands of entries from professional photographers nationwide. These entries are displayed in an exhibition organised by the Photo Imaging Council of Australia in celebration of incredible photographic talent, with the winning photographs being published in the Canon AIPP APPA book. Critiqued by the best in the industry, the judging process takes place over three days at the annual Digital Show where the panel strives to set the highest standard of excellence in the photographic industry.

This year’s winner, Sydney photographer Adam Pretty, now holds the esteemed title of the 2012 Canon AIPP Australian Professional Photographer of the Year. As the industry’s highest honor, Adam took home $20,000 worth of Canon EOS professional digital camera equipment and was also recognised as the 2012 AIPP Australian Sport Photographer of the Year.

Starting out as a news photographer at The Sydney Morning Herald, Adam’s incredible talent in the field of sport photography saw him move to Getty Images in 1998, where he photographed five Olympic Games and worked on projects around the world. In 2007 Adam moved from Sport photography into the advertising industry where he continues to win numerous accolades for his stunning and emotive images.

Winners from the other 2012 Canon AIPP Australian Professional Photography Award categories included:

  • 2012 AIPP Australian Advertising Photographer of the Year – Easton Chang, Warners Bay NSW
  • 2012 AIPP Australian Fashion Photographer of the Year – Genelle Bevan, Berwick, VIC
  • 2012 AIPP Architectural Photographer of the Year – Tim Griffith, Castlemaine, VIC
  • 2012 AIPP Australian Fine Art Photographer of the Year – Hilary Hann, Kent Town, SA
  • 2012 AIPP Student Photographer Of The Year – Ona Janzen, Blackheath, NSW

All images copyright Adam Pretty.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *