Enter the Belly of the Beast

Published:  April 24, 2013
Enter the Belly of the Beast

“I don’t want to be a designer, a marketer, an illustrator, a brander, a social media consultant, a multi platform guru, an interface wizard… I want to be a lover, a teacher, a wanderer, an assembler of words, a sculptor of immaterial, a maker of instruments, and an erratic muse.”
Danielle Ledue taken from Adbusters Australia April 2013

Old School the New School for Design are inviting designers, artists and activists to demonstrate their power as cultural producers for Re-Belly-ion of the Beast. Billed as a “meaningful and fulfilling design challenge that encourages shared commentary amongst designers for the benefit of everyone.”, this unique event aims to demonstrate how design competitions can work towards a shared learning community.

Participants are tasked with a a simple brief: to contribute an innovative and socially engaged design solution that interprets what you believe the Belly of the Beast to be.

Entries may be presented as any form of visual communication, including typography, sculpture, film, animation. The challenge encourages conceptual submissions that demonstrate a process driven approach and operate outside of traditional design solutions. Additionally, all entries must be made using found objects.

On the adjudicating panel for this event will be David Lancashire, Oliver Vodeb, Megan Deal, Luke Robertson, Ben Mangan (Inkahoots) and Veronica Grow. An exhibition of submitted works will follow the judging process.

For detailed information, as well as full terms and conditions, visit the Re-Belly-ion site.

Taking inspiration from Memefest, Re-Belly-ion of the Beast is a satellite event that celebrates Old School’s first year of operation, as well as the launch of a bold new publication titled The Belly of the Beast which examines the power of the individual designer. The book features articles by Luke Robertson, Meagan Deal, and Magda Ksiezak as well as contributions by the Conditional Designers – Luna Maurer, Edo Paulus, Jonathan Puckey and Roel Wouters.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *